A Small and Short Catechism
A Small Catechism
Taken from here.

[Image: ?u=https%3A%2F%2Ftruthbook.com%2Fimages%...f=1&nofb=1]

Ten Commandments of God
I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt not have strange gods before Me. Thou shalt not make to thyself a graven thing, nor the likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, nor of those things that are in the waters under the earth. Thou shalt not adore them, nor serve them.
Thou shalt not take the Name of the Lord thy God in vain.
Remember to keep holy the Lord's Day.
Honor thy father and thy mother.
Thou shalt not murder.
Thou shalt not commit adultery.
Thou shalt not steal.
Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife.
Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's goods.

Three Eminent Good Works:

Seven Spiritual Works of Mercy:
Admonish the sinner,
Counsel the doubtful,
Instruct the ignorant,
Comfort the sorrowful,
Forgive injuries,
Bear wrongs patiently,
Pray for the living and the dead.

Seven Corporal Works of Mercy:
Feed the hungry,
Give drink to the thirsty,
Clothe the naked,
Shelter the homeless,
Visit the sick,
Visit the imprisoned,
Bury the dead.

Seven Sacraments:
Baptism (Mt 28:19.),
Confirmation (Acts 8:17.),
Penance (John 20:23.),
Holy Eucharist (Mt 26:26.),
Holy Orders (Luke 22:19.),
Matrimony (Mt 19:6.),
Extreme Unction (James 5:14.).

Seven Deadly Sins:
Pride ( unrestrained appreciation of our own worth ),
Greed ( immoderate desire for earthly goods ),
Lust ( hankering for impure pleasures ),
Anger ( inordinate desire of revenge ),
Gluttony ( unrestrained use of food and drink ),
Envy ( sorrow over another's good fortune ),
Sloth ( laxity in keeping the Faith and the practice of virtue ).

Seven Opposite Virtues:
Humility ( which opposes Pride ),
Moderation and Liberality ( which opposes Greed and Covetousness ),
Chastity ( which opposes Lust ),
Meekness ( which opposes Anger ),
Moderation and Temperance ( which opposes Gluttony ),
Charity and Brotherly Love ( which opposes Envy ),
Zeal and Diligence ( which opposes Sloth ).

Four Last Things:

Holy Days of Obligation for U.S.A.:
All Sunday,
Christmas ( December 25 ),
Circumcision of Jesus ( January 1 ),
Ascension ( 40 days after Easter ),
Assumption ( August 15 ),
All Saints ( November 1 ),
Immaculate Conception ( December 8 ).

Seven Gifts of the Holy Ghost:
Fear of the Lord.

Twelve Fruits of the Holy Ghost:

Six Sins Against the Holy Ghost:
Frivolous presumption of salvation,
Despair of salvation,
Resisting defined doctrine,
Envy of another's spiritual good,
Stubbornness in sin,
Final obstinacy in sin.

Four Sins Crying To Heaven For Vengeance:
Murder ( Genesis 4:10 ),
Sodomy ( Genesis 18:20 ),
Oppression of poor ( Exodus 2:23 ),
Defrauding laborers of wages ( James 5:4 ) .

Nine Ways of Sharing Guilt:
Advising another to sin,
Commanding one to sin,
Provoking another to sin,
Consenting to another's sin,
Showing one how to sin,
Praising another's sin,
Concealing, saying or doing nothing to prevent sin,
Taking part in, or enjoying results of another's sin,
Defending another's sin.

How To Baptize In a Time of Need:
Anyone person with the use of reason may baptize another in a time of need. Say,
"I baptize thee in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost" while pouring plain water on the forehead of the person who is being baptized.

Six Precepts of the Church:
To hear Mass on Sundays, and on Holy Days of Obligation,
To fast and abstain on the days appointed,
To confess one's sins at least once a year,
To receive the Holy Eucharist during the Easter season,
To contribute to the support of the Church,
Not to marry non Catholics, or persons who are related to us within the fourth degree of kindred, nor privately without witnesses, nor to solemnize marriage at forbidden times.

The Three Great Catholic Pope Saints:
Pope Saint Gregory the Great,
Pope Saint Leo the Great,
Pope Saint Nicholas the Great.

Three Theological Virtues:

Four Cardinal Virtues:

The Eight Beatitudes ( Matthew 5 ):
Blessed are the poor in spirit; for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven,
Blessed are the meek; for they shall possess the land,
Blessed are they that mourn; for they shall he comforted,
Blessed are they that hunger and thirst after justice, for they shall be filled,
Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy,
Blessed are the clean of heart; for they shall see God,
Blessed are the peacemakers; for they shall be called the children of God,
Blessed are they that suffer persecution for justice' sake; for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.
"So let us be confident, let us not be unprepared, let us not be outflanked, let us be wise, vigilant, fighting against those who are trying to tear the faith out of our souls and morality out of our hearts, so that we may remain Catholics, remain united to the Blessed Virgin Mary, remain united to the Roman Catholic Church, remain faithful children of the Church."- Abp. Lefebvre

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)